Schloss Neustrelitz

Schloss Neustrelitz Luftbild Kavalierhäuser um 1920.jpg

The Neustrelitz Palace (GermanSchloss Neustrelitz) in Neustrelitz in Mecklenburg-VorpommernGermany was a princely palace, which mostly served as the main residence of the Grand Dukes of Mecklenburg-Strelitz. The palace was destroyed during World War II and was not constructed, although possible. Only the park remains today.

The Neustrelitz Palace was originally constructed as a hunting lodge in Glienke on the Zierker lake around 1710/ 1711. After the castle in Strelitz was burned down in the eve of 24 October 1712, the ducal family was forced to live in hunting lodges for a number of years. The architect Christoph Julius Löwe transformed the hunting lodge into a baroque style three-story, three-winged palace. It became the principal residence of duke Adolf Friedrich in 1733. Around the palace, the city of Neustrelitz was constructed which eventually became the new capital of the duchy. Over the years the palace expanded and changed, lastly between 1905 and 1909. It remained the seats of the Duke and Grand Dukes up to 1918 when the monarchy in Germany came to an end. The palace became property of the new Free State of Mecklenburg-Strelitz. It served as parliament and museum. The Palace was destroyed during a fire in the night of 29 April 1945.

Although parts of palace could have been restored, the Communist regime of East Germany decided to demolish it, and all that now remains are the foundations. Since 1990, there have been efforts to reconstruct parts of the palace, such as the palace tower.

Neustrelitz Palace Tower in Winter 1940

Neustrelitz Palace Ruins around 1949


Schloss Neustrelitz (um 1900).jpg

Read about WWII here

Ordensburg Marienburg

Königsberg Castle

Breslau Puppet Theater

Castles in Bavaria

Coat of arms of North Rhine-Westphalia

Castles in North Rhine-Westphalia

Red with a white cross that extends to the edges of the flag; the vertical part of the cross is shifted to the hoist side

Castles in Schleswig-Holstein

Coat of arms of State of Hessen

Castles in Hesse

Burg Ronneburg

Schloss Birstein

Marburger Schloss

Schloss Eisenhammer

Schloss Bad Homburg

Schloss Philippsruhe

Schloss Arolsen

Burg Trendelburg

Burg Idstein

Schloss Heiligenberg (Jugenheim)

Schloss Steinheim

Jagdschloss Wabern

Schloss Fasanerie (Eichenzell)

Altes und Neues Schloss Büdesheim

Schloss Ramholz

Schloss Rauischholzhausen

Schloss Eisenbach

Schloss Biebrich

Stadtschloss Wiesbaden

Residenzschloss Darmstadt

Schlösschen Schönburg

Schloss Wolfsbrunnen

Burg Kronberg

Schloss Berlepsch

Schloss Wilhelmshöhe + Bergpark Wilhelmshöhe

Frankenberg, Hessen

Neues Rathaus Wiesbaden

Coat of arms of Saxony-Anhalt

Castles in Saxony-Anhalt:

Schloss Hundisburg (Hundisburg)

Schloss Blankenburg (Harz)

Schloss Neu-Augustusburg

Schloss Merseburger & Merseburger Dom

Schloss Stolberg in Sachsen-Anhalt

Burg Falkenstein (Harz)

Schloss Quedlinburg

Schloss Wernigerode

Neuenburg Castle (Freyburg)

Herrenhaus Brandenstein (Möckern)

Flag of Germany


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s